Living with Scleroderma

this is nothing but a curve ball

Fibromyalgia

on April 7, 2013

On February 27, I told my doctor that I’ve been experiencing pain all over my body. It’s getting harder and harder to get up and do anything. I would normally wake up having pain barely trying to make a fist. I get restless leg syndrome at night keeping me from sleeping. It’s hard to walk at times because of the pain on my knees and ankles.

She started poking me in various spots of my body and asked me if it hurts. I said yes. And she said that I have Fibromyalgia.

Fibromyalgia is a condition that causes fatigue and widespread pain and stiffness in the muscles and joints. Most researchers believe that it is caused by a combination of physical and emotional stressors.

My doctor prescribed me Nortriptyline and told me I should try to sleep more, avoid stress and possibly do Yoga.

I’m currently on my 6th week of taking my medication and my pain level has gone down tremendously, but I still have pain everyday. And some days are worse than others.

I also found out that there is such a thing as Fibro Fog. Fibro fog is the inability to concentrate and remember things. This is one of the symptoms of Fibromyalgia. It totally explains why I can’t think of the right words to say and I end up saying something different from how I thought it.

In addition to Scleroderma, this is another hurdle I have to go through. More than the memory and pain, the fatigue is the worst for me. It takes me so long to get up and even longer to get ready in the morning. I’m barely out the shower to get ready for work and I’m already exhausted. I don’t seem to ever have enough sleep, no matter how many hours I get. I’m just constantly tired.

I’m trying to cope by helping myself some to remember things. I write things down if I need to remember them. To lessen my fatigue, I’m trying to be efficient with my time by grabbing as much as I can to put things away on the way. I’m learning to ask people for help. I’m learning to say no. To lessen my stress, I only do things that will make me happy. And I spend my time with people I love.

It’s not easy having so many health issues. But I love it that I get to see life in a whole new perspective. I’m learning to prioritize on the most important things first, everything else is just extra.

Leave a Reply

