Living with Scleroderma

this is nothing but a curve ball

Chemo #10

on January 2, 2013

Chemotherapy #10 was fine on the actual day of treatment. I figured I was getting used to the medication. I was thinking I’ll have my typical tiredness and fatigue. And I was already expecting a slight nausea.

Untitled

Unfortunately, I didn’t get my usual 2 days of fatigue, and a bit of nausea. Instead, I was tired almost everyday for 2 weeks with nausea and vomiting the whole time.

My doctor said that the cytoxan is probably kicking in. They’re happy that the medicine is working in slowing down the progression of Scleroderma in my lungs, however they are concerned about my side effects as well.

My hair also started falling out. I wasn’t having this bad of side effects until this last chemo session so I freaked out a bit. I’m very blessed that everyone around me has been such a great support system. My family and friends keep reminding me that it’s almost over and my hair will grow back anyway =)

For my last 2 cytoxan treatments, my doctor told me that they will lessen the dose enough to hopefully decrease the my side effects. I’m crossing my fingers for this to work.

It’s going to be a busy month. I have a lung scan tomorrow, possibly another one the day after. My Chemo #11 is next week. Then, I have my 1st Rituximab infusion scheduled the following week. If I don’t get an allergic reaction to Rituximab, I’ll get another infusion 2 weeks later.

I’ll keep you guys posted! Thanks for all the thoughts and prayers!

Leave a Reply

