Living with Scleroderma

this is nothing but a curve ball

How are you?

on May 11, 2012

Nowadays, I often hear the question, “How are you?”

And I do appreciate that. Even people I don’t know too well or don’t see me as much constantly check up on me. You guys make me feel very special! Thank you!

Ever since getting sick, the question “How are you?” all of a sudden has taken a new meaning.  I just can’t always say, “I’m fine, thanks!”  Because there are days when I’m just getting out of a 10-20 minute coughing fit 5 minutes ago and my head is still lightheaded from all the coughing.  Of course they didn’t see or hear my attack all the way from the other side of the office when it happened.

On the other hand, I don’t want to just say, “Actually, not too good, I just got out of a coughing attack again…” And then I’ll get responses like, “Oh no! Sorry to hear that!” Or “Still having problems with your asthma/allergies?” Not everyone knows I’m actually going through something more than asthma/allergies.  And I can’t tell every person I’m going across in the hallway or restroom that I have Scleroderma.  Because once I bring it up, I have to actually stop them or myself to be able to explain what it is (even the cliff notes version of it), for them to have some sort of understanding of why I’m this way.

But I want to answer the “How are you?” question without having or to seem like I’m asking for pity or trying to have a long conversation when some people just want me to really just be okay.

I really can’t help it.  Some days will be better than others.  But, I’ve learned that God is faithful.  According to 1 Thessalonians 5:18, “Give thanks in all circumstances, because this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

So how should I answer simple yet complicated question?  Hmmmmm…

Well, if I’m doing well that day, I’ll say, “I’m great praise God”
If not, I won’t lie to you and say I’m fine, but instead I’ll say, “I’m blessed! Because it really doesn’t matter that I’m feeling really bad, because I still am breathing and that is something to be grateful for.

One response to “How are you?

  1. Flor Salao Burbridge says:

    Hi Kristine, my name is Flor Salao Burbridge, I’m a childhood friend and HS classmates of your Mom. I talked to her and found out about you. You probably don’t know me, I alwasys see you when you are a baby and you have been in our house once is San Jose, CA.
    I will not ask How are you? but praise you on how you are staying so strong despite of everything and still loving GOD. We are all praying for you, never loose hope and believe in MIRACLE, your Mom knows that it happened to my husband.
    I wish I could join her on the Walk in June, but some of our classmates might. They are all including you in their prayers. GOD bless you!

Leave a Reply

